In the “Report” module of Amazon backend, Amazon provides sellers with regular store report data, including payment reports, business reports, advertising reports, return reports, etc. Sellers can download and analyze target reports as needed.
In addition to regular store data, Amazon has also launched a “Brand Analysis” report specifically for brand sellers.
The “Brand Analysis” function is like a data perspective mirror. It is a free full-network report viewing tool that can deeply view all data under the category, including search term comparison, user behavior and crowd attribute analysis, etc. This function originally belonged to Amazon VENDOR sellers, but was transplanted by Amazon to brand sellers. Although it is a simplified version of “ARA”, it shows the support Amazon provides to brand sellers. The “Brand Analysis” page includes data reports in 5 dimensions. Let’s take a look at them one by one.
Customer Search Terms
The “Customer Search Terms” report provides data on Amazon search terms and search frequency rankings (relative search rankings), including 3 indicators: the top 3 ASINs with the target search terms click ranking, the click share of the target ASIN, and the conversion share of the target ASIN. We can search for related products, and Amazon will list the top 3 data of its keywords.
1. What is the search frequency ranking?
The “search frequency ranking” reflects the popularity ranking compared with all other search terms within a certain period of time, which is somewhat similar to the Google Trends index.
To a certain extent, the TOP10 search terms reflect people’s current lifestyles and shopping behaviors. At present, “masks” are still the most popular category terms, and Apple’s products still occupy the top stream.
2. ASIN share
1) Click share
Refers to the ratio of the number of times the target product is clicked after the user searches for the keyword to the total number of clicks.
2) Conversion share
Refers to the ratio of the number of orders that the user actually purchases the target product to the total number of orders.
3. Purpose of share
We can use the conversion rate formula to calculate the conversion rate of the target ASIN, or take “Lunch Bag” as an example. ASIN conversion rate = 17.3% x 1.21 = 20.93%. By analogy, we can estimate the order volume, click volume, search volume, CPC bidding and advertising expenses of the target ASIN.
The conversion rate of the target competitor can be used as the anchor point of our CPC advertising. When our conversion rate is lower than that of the competitor ASIN, we can appropriately reduce advertising expenditures and adjust the Listing; when the conversion rate is higher than that of the competitor ASIN, we can appropriately increase the bid and budget, which is more beneficial to the sub-keyword ACoS of the word.
Repeat purchase behavior
The “Repeat purchase behavior” report helps sellers analyze the proportion of new and old customers through the indicator of customer repurchase rate, so as to formulate strategies to increase customer repeat purchases and acquire new customers.
Market basket analysis
The translation of “market basket analysis” is a bit too straightforward. In fact, this report can be understood as FBT. From the seller’s perspective, it is the associated sales of the target product. Since it is an associated sales, it can be used as a reference data for “virtual bundling sales”.
Product comparison and substitution
The “Product comparison and substitution” report helps sellers understand which products customers compare with your products during the shopping process and the ASIN selection after comparison, which is very helpful for our Listing differentiation and advertising ASIN targeting.
Crowd attribute statistics
“Crowd attribute statistics” refers to the analysis of personal information of customers who have placed orders, including education, income, gender, marital status and age group. This report is very valuable for our crowd positioning and SEO/SEM crowd labels.